top of page
Search
  • Betances Health Center

What's Your Why?: How BHC Hygienist is Aiding Community Dental Care

In healthcare, it is crucial to be a team player and leader, as the most important person whose care is centered around is the patient. At Betances Health Center, we understand the importance of delivering quality care to each person who steps through our doors. We will not be able to do this without the wonderful work of our staff and providers.

In this new series of 'Staff Stories', we would like to spotlight Ashley, our hygienist and the manager of our Dental Department. Ashley's commitment to her work includes outside and inside of our clinic - she actively collaborates with our marketing team to conduct school outreach and in the past provided free dental screenings. Learn more about Ashley and her path to becoming a hygienist.


"Since I was young, I've always had a passion for working with children and dreamed of becoming a teacher. I knew I wanted to do hands-on work instead of sitting in an office. This applies to my hobbies, as I enjoy baking and crafting during my free time.
When I discovered dental hygiene, it seemed to be a perfect fit for working with people, especially kids. I previously worked at a pediatric dental office before coming to Betances, so I recognize the difficulties of managing the younger populations. In my time here, I have received the opportunity to offer dental screenings to local elementary schools and provided dental care to many families. It feels great to give back to the community I grew up in since I am very familiar with the area and the people we serve.
My goal is to enhance our pediatric population by promoting and educating kids about dental hygiene, as it's crucial to address dental problems early on. Since dental caries is the most prevalent chronic disease among children, especially in our community. As a dental hygienist, it’s my responsibility to facilitate the prevention of these diseases in children and adults by encouraging skill development and home care education."

While maintaining regular dental appointments is crucial, we also want to spotlight the dedication of our providers. Through these stories, we aim to celebrate their hard work and raise awareness of the importance of dental health in our community.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page