top of page
Search
  • Betances Health Center

October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month


Wear your Purple shirts, blouses to work with us on 10/17/2022, and let’s call attention to Domestic Violence and the need for screenings/ conversations and safe spaces for speaking up, reaching out and protecting ourselves and our loved ones.


The theme for 2022’s DVAM is “Every 1 Knows Some 1”.

In fact, 1 in 4 women and 1 in 7 men have experienced interpersonal violence in their lifetime.

Data on intimate partner homicide provides a glaring picture of the devastating toll that domestic violence can take. Domestic violence is a deadly crime that creates a painful void – a permanent empty place at the table for families whose loved ones were killed at the hands of abusers

Domestic violence is violence or abuse that happens in a domestic setting. It's a serious problem that affects many families and does not only refer to physical violence; it also takes into account threats, unwanted visits and phone calls, insults, forced sex, and taking financial control. Intimate partner violence (a form of domestic violence) is linked to depression and suicidal behavior.

If you or someone you know has been affected by domestic violence, know that there are many resources out there that can help, including the National Domestic Violence Hotline (1.800.799.SAFE (7233).

An overview of Domestic Violence in the United States

· Intimate partner violence accounts for 15% of all violent crimes annually in the United States.

· More than 1 in 3 women and 1 in 4 men have experienced either physical violence, rape, or stalking by an intimate partner in their lifetime. This includes a range of behaviors (e.g. slapping, shoving, pushing) and in some cases might not be considered "domestic violence."

· Persons are commonly abused by those who are closest to them. 1 in 7 women and 1 in 25 men have been injured by an intimate partner

· Each day in the United States, over 20,000 calls are placed to domestic violence hotlines by individuals reporting incidents.

· On average, 20 people per minute are physically abused by an intimate partner. This is an astounding number that shows just how prevalent this is in our society.

· A weapon is used in 19% of domestic violence incidents.

· Women who are victims of intimate partner violence are most likely to be between the ages of 18 to 24.

Domestic violence is far too pervasive in American society. Too many children and adults are victims of this behavior each and every day. The impacts this violence has on both the individual and society as a whole long-lasting. The first step toward solutions is helping the population understand just how widespread the problem is.

Hopefully, the statistics and facts in this article have helped to illuminate just how many people are victimized by destructive, selfish, and violent behavior every day.


Here is a poem, please share with your friends and on your social media channels. We never know who may NEED to hear and read this at this very moment

“REMEMBER MY NAME”

When you remember my walk upon this earth

Look not into my steps with pity.

When you taste the tears of my journey

Notice how they fill my foot prints

Not my spirit

For that remains with me.

My story must be told

Must remain in conscious memory

So my daughters won’t cry my tears

Or follow my tortured legacy.

Lovin’ is a tricky thing

If it doesn’t come from a healthy place,

If Lovin’ Doesn’t FIRST practice on self it will act like a stray bullet not caring what it hits

You may say:

Maybe I should’ve loved him a little less

Maybe I should’ve loved me a little more,

Maybe I should’ve not believed he’d never hit me again.

All those maybes will not bring me back– not right his wrong.

My life was not his to take.

As your eyes glance my name

Understand once I breathed

Walked

Loved

just like you.

I wish for all who glance my name

To know love turned fear – kept me there

Loved twisted to fear,

Kept me in a chokehold

Cut off my air

Blurred my vision I couldn’t see how to break free.

I shoulda told my family

I shoulda told my friends

I shoulda got that CPO

Before the police let him go

But all those shoulda’s can’t bring me back when I lied so well

To cover the shame

To hide the signs.

If my death had to show what love isn’t

If my death had to show that love shouldn’t hurt

If my death had to make sure another woman told a friend instead of holding it in

If my death reminds you how beautiful, how worthy you really are

If my death reminds you to honor all you are daily

Then remember my name

Shout it from the center of your soul

Wake me in my grave

Let ME know

My LIVING was not in vain.

By Kimberly A. Collins


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page